FAQ: Large Population Clusters In Southeast Asia Exist In All But Which Of The Following Areas?

What are the two large island groups in Southeast Asia?

Terms in this set (36) The southeast Asia region is made up of two peninsulas and two large island groups. The Malay and Indochina Peninsula and the Philippines and the Malay archipelago.

What are the two main areas that Southeast Asia is divided into?

Southeast Asia is geographically divided into two subregions, namely Mainland Southeast Asia (or the Indochinese Peninsula) and Maritime Southeast Asia (or the similarly defined Malay Archipelago) (Javanese: Nusantara). Mainland Southeast Asia includes: Cambodia. Laos.

Which country River Association is incorrect?

generally infertile tropical soils. Which country-river association is incorrect? A country in Southeast Asia that remained, for the most part, an independent state throughout the colonial era was: Thailand.

You might be interested:  FAQ: How To Create Asia Psn Account?

Which country in Southeast Asia is predominantly Roman Catholic today a result of its colonial legacy?

East Timor (Timor Leste) The newest country in Southeast Asia, it celebrated 20 years of Independence (from Indonesia and from Portugal). The country is predominantly Catholic.

Which is the greatest archipelago on the globe?

The largest archipelago in the world is Indonesia. It has 18000 islands in total.

Is Japan an archipelago?

1. JAPANESE ARCHIPELAGO. The Japanese archipelago stretches from subtropical to subarctic zones and runs parallel to the eastern rim of the Eurasian Continent. The archipelago consists of four main islands and more than 3,900 smaller islands whose area covers almost 378,000 square kilometers.

Why do Southeast Asia have similarities?

Virtually all of Southeast Asia lies between the tropics, and so there are similarities in climate as well as plant and animal life throughout the region. Because of this reliable wind pattern, Southeast Asia became a meeting place for trade between India and China, the two great markets of early Asia.

How many countries are in Southeast Asia?

Southeast Asia is composed of eleven countries of impressive diversity in religion, culture and history: Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Timor-Leste, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Which states are part of mainland Southeast Asia?

Mainland Southeast Asia is divided into the countries of Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar (Burma), Thailand, Vietnam, and the small city-state of Singapore at the southern tip of the Malay Peninsula; Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam, which occupy the eastern portion of the mainland, often are collectively called the Indochinese

You might be interested:  Question: Way In Which Islam Was Initially Spread Within Se Asia.?

What is the most prominent religion in Southeast Asia?

Hinduism. Hinduism is one of the two largest religions in Asia with about 1.2 billion followers, mainly in South and Southeast Asia.

Is Southeast Asia culturally fragmented?

Like Eastern Europe, Southeast Asia is a region of great cultural complexity that merits the label shatter belt. Southeast Asia can be considered a buffer zone as well as a shatter belt. The total population of Southeast Asia is relatively modest compared to the populations of India and China.

What is the newest state in Southeast Asia?

Timor-Leste (East Timor) Timor-Leste is a small country of about 1.3 million people based on part of the island of Timor. The other part of the island is controlled by Indonesia. Timor-Leste is the newest and poorest country of Southeast Asia.

Why did Western powers want colonies in Southeast Asia?

As the primary motivation for the first phase was the mere accumulation of wealth, the reasons for and degree of European interference during the second phase are dictated by geo-strategic rivalries, the need to defend and grow spheres of interest, competition for commercial outlets, long term control of resources and

Which of the following is a landlocked country in Southeast Asia?

Laos is the only landlocked country in Southeast Asia bordered by Cambodia, China, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam.

Who brought Catholicism to the Philippines?

It was only later in the 16th century that the voyages of Portuguese explorer Ferdinand Magellan (1480-1521) first brought Catholicism to the archipelago, originally named St. Lazarus’ Islands by Spanish explorer Ruy L√≥pez de Villalobos (1500?